SOC2 audit

A Comprehensive Introduction to SOC 2 Audit and Certification

Reading Time: 3 minutes

Organizations are implementing strong security protocols to save themselves from security breaches, but hackers are getting smarter. They have access to developed tools and smart coding that is allowing them to hack devices. To decrease the probability of attack, organizations rely on various defensive solutions. They rely on advanced security solutions, outsourced cybersecurity services, or integrated Security Operations Centers (SOC) – SOC1 and SOC2. Every defense mechanism is useful depending upon the organization and cyberattack.

Every organization, whether big or small, is digitalizing its businesses. Even governments secure some data online. With every industry stepping into the world of digitalization risk of breaches is getting higher too. According to Ponemon’s 2020 cost of data breach report, the average cost of a data breach is $3.86 million. The risk is getting higher so does the cost. This is where a SOC team comes in. The SOC team again divided into two tiers – SOC1 and SOC2.

This article will talk about what SOC is, the different types of SOC, what SOC2 is, and how a certificate is SOC can help you join this industry.

What Does SOC Stand For?

SOC stands for Security Operations Center. It is a long process that is planned for most advanced information service providers.

Five Trust Principles

  • Security- It means the protection of data from unauthorized access.
  • Availability- It involves the availability of the product or services as mentioned in the contract or service level agreement (SLA).
  • Processing integrity- It refers to the system integrity if the system achieves its purpose or not.
  • Confidentiality- Any sensitive data must be kept confidential and in protection. Data encryption is an important aspect of data protection while data transmission.
  • Privacy- According to the privacy principle disclosure or disposal of any personal data should be done under the organization’s privacy notice and criteria set AICPA’s GAPP.

The Difference Between SOC1 and SOC2

Compliance can get a little hectic over time, but with patience, you will get there. Before 2014 companies only needed to meet the SOC 1 requirements. But now, every cloud-using organization must comply with SOC 2 requirements to secure cloud data.

SOC 1: SOC 1 focuses on the services organizations provide to the clients along with the business and information technology process.

SOC 2: SOC 2 is much more complicated. It had five key sections that form standard trust services principles.

More About SOC2

SOC 2 is a procedure under which the service provider ensures safe data management according to the interest of your organization. Every data will be processed securely in this procedure, whether its clients’ data, organizations’ personal data, or consumer data.

What Happens in a SOC2 Audit?

If any organization deals with clients’ personal data such as health or financial, they can ensure their data’s safety by following the SOC guidelines issued by AICPA. Organizations can integrate these guidelines by gaining SOC2 certification through an audit.

The SOC 2 audit is an indoor audit in which the auditor checks how an organization keeps its client’s data secure. They also check the company’s increased productivity and methods used to keep it in protection.

  • The first step is to decide the first principle from all fiver. Which one do you want the auditor to audit?
  • In the second step, decide the controls that included TSC (Trust Service Criteria). Organizations can also take the help of third-party services.
  • Self-assess your security and controls against your decided principle. Or take the help of the security professional who will get things ready for you.
  • Get formal SOC 2 audit from a certified CPA. It can take weeks for this process to end. It involves checking logs, interviewing employees, screenshots, paperwork, and providing additional documents.
  • After the process, you will receive SOC2 certification stating how good your security standards are and how they fulfill SOC 2 principles.

How Do I Get My SOC2 Certification?

Only after pursuing the certificate program candidate will not be eligible for SOC Analyst certification. EC-Council’s Certified SOC Analyst (CSA) program will allow Tier I and Tier II SOC analysts to perform basic level operations. Under the CSA program, candidates will learn the trending and in-demand skills from professional and experienced trainers. The certificate creates new opportunities based on skills contributing to a SOC team. It is a 3-day intense program that covers fundaments of cybersecurity operation, Management and correlation, incident response, SIEM deployment, and advanced incident detection.

To get a certificate in security operations, candidates need to attempt the Certified SOC Analyst exam. If a candidate’s attempt was successful with at least a 70% score, they would be eligible for the SOC Analyst certification. After which, candidates will be eligible for SOC Analyst jobs.

Over 8,000 SOC jobs remain unfilled!

Transform into a SOC Analyst and get job-ready today


get certified from ec-council
Write for Us